Boys indoor track: League crown is Weston’s

Weston High’s Henry Morris was fifth in the 1,000 meters at the South-West Conference boys indoor track finals on Saturday, Feb. 2. Weston scored 102 points to place first overall.—Gabrielle Watson photo

Heading into the South-West Conference championships, head coach Matt Medve told the Weston High boys indoor track team that if it performed well, it had a good chance to win, but it needed a good night. New Fairfield, a perennial challenger, had a strong team, and Medve knew his team had “no room for error.”

“I told them heading in that we had a good shot but we needed personal bests and consistent performance from everyone,” he said.

Such is what the Trojans got. In the end, their 102 points were good enough to lead the field and win back the title they last won in 2011.

New Fairfield was runner up with 80 and Bunnell followed with 50.

From the first starting gun, the boys set the tone for the night, taking gold in the first two events, the 4×200 relay and the 4×800 relay.

The 4×200 team of Bryan Lonergan, Chris Petty, Oliver Parker, and Simeon Okoro topped second place Bunnell in the race by more than 1.3 seconds. In the 4×800 relay, the team of James Murphy, Will Glaser, Matt Proctor, and Noah Krassin beat New Milford, the next closest team, by more than four seconds.

The boys in the field events started posting strong results as well. Larry Cass, the third seed in the shot put, bumped the second seed from New Fairfield with a personal best toss of 45 feet, seven inches.

Eric Jesperson, the 11th seed, took fourth place with a personal best of 41’ 9.5”, more than four feet farther than his previous record. Eighth seed Trent Monges took fifth place, moving up with a throw of more than two feet better than his previous mark.

Weston dominated the pole vault, starting with Conor Mulcahey taking first with a jump of 10’ 6’. Nick DiBartholomeo took second, also with a jump of 10’ 6” but with more attempts. Will Crum (10’) took third and Patrick Baber (9’) took fifth.

In the long jump, Ian Steube entered the meet as the eighth seed but took second with a jump of 19’ 6”, more than a foot and a half better than his previous personal best.

Greg Kaeser took third in the 55 meter hurdles. In the 1,000 meters, Henry Morris took fifth, two places higher than his seed and six seconds better than his previous personal best time.

David Stankiewicz took third in the 600.

In the sprint medley relay, the Weston team of Lonergan, Petty, Parker and Krassin took second, holding their place in the seedings.

Then Okoro, the top seed, took home the gold against a tough field in the 300. “To win the 300 as a sophomore is very special,” Medve said. Brian Lonergan added points with a fifth place finish in the race.

“We needed a great night, and we got it across the board,” Medve said. “Everyone stepped up when they needed to, right from the start, and they set the tone for a championship night.”

Looking forward to today’s (Thursday’s) Class M meet at Hillhouse, Medve said Ledyard and New Fairfield are the top seeds with Weston following. “We could win it,” he said, “but it would take great performances from everyone on the team. We’ll see.”

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. The Weston Forum, 16 Bailey Avenue, Ridgefield, CT 06877

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress