The Weston Forum wins press association award

The Weston Forum won second place in the Local Election Coverage category at the New England Newspaper and Press Association’s Better Newspaper contest.

The award went to the staff of The Forum, which includes Kim Donnelly, editor, Patricia Gay, assistant editor, Bryan Haeffele, designer, and Ian Murren, production and photo editor.

The annual NENPA conference and award ceremony was held last weekend, Feb. 8 and 9, in Boston, Mass. About 25 staffers from The Forum and its sister publications at Hersam Acorn Newspapers braved the “Blizzard of the Century” to attend.

Including The Forum’s second place win, Hersam Acorn Newspapers took home a total of 15 awards:

• James Passeri, The Fairfield Sun/The Wilton Bulletin, Rookie Journalist of the Year.

New Canaan Advertiser, first place, Overall Website.

The Wilton Bulletin, Jeannette Ross, first place, Human Interest Feature Story.

The Redding Pilot, Kaitlin Bradshaw, second place, Human Interest Feature Story.

The Ridgefield Press, Macklin Reid, second place, Editorial Writing.

The Easton Courier, Liz Skalka (a Weston resident), second place, Social Issues Feature.

The Ridgefield Press, second place, Advertising Supplement/Special Section.

The Darien Times, David DesRoches, third place, Crime and Courts Reporting.

The Easton Courier, Westonite Liz Skalka, third place, Local Election Coverage.

New Canaan Advertiser, Dave Stewart, third place (Weekly Class 2), Sports Page or Section.

Greenwich Post, Paul Silverfarb, third place (Weekly Class 1), Sports Page or Section.

The Ridgefield Press, Tim Murphy, third place, Sports Column.

The Wilton Bulletin, Bryan Haeffele, third place, Spot News Photo.

New Canaan Advertiser, Julie Butler (a former Westonite), third place, Special Section.

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. The Weston Forum, 16 Bailey Avenue, Ridgefield, CT 06877

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress