December 8, 2023

10 European countries where the euro won’t get you far

  1. Homepage
  2. a trip

When you travel, always organize. Travel back and forth, things to do, and most importantly: what about paying on site?

If you’re traveling to Europe, you don’t have to worry about payment arrangements, right? Europe and the Euro – Even if it sounds similar, it’s not that simple. In many European countries, very little euro notes and coins are used. What are these, among others, and what currency do you need instead.

Euro: You cannot pay with it in these countries

The Euro currency is present in most European Union countries – other European countries have different currencies. © CSH/Imago

Ten European countries that do not have the euro and what is the popular currency instead:

  1. Bulgaria: Destinations on the Black Sea or Golden Sands coast are especially popular. If you want to go there, remember to exchange money. Here you pay with Liv. As of January 2025, you may be able to pay in Euros here.
  2. Czech Republic: Prague is a popular travel destination – the Czech Crown is often used here. Travel correspondent Note that many shops, restaurants and hotels in tourist areas accept the euro as a means of payment.
  3. Sweden: Here you usually pay in Swedish Krona – but you don’t necessarily have to change money. You can achieve good results with card payments.
  4. Denmark: You can also pay in cash here. Otherwise the currency is also called Krona. In some cities prices are also displayed in Euros, in which case you can also pay in Euros. But be careful: you will get changed in crowns.
  5. Norway: The national currency here is the Norwegian Krone.
  6. Great Britain: Here you pay in pounds sterling.
  7. Poland: In Poland, a country neighboring Germany, you need the zloty.
  8. Hungary: The official currency is the Hungarian Forint. However, in stores, you can pay with euros and credit cards, the portal informs
  9. Romania: The euro could be introduced here in 2029, we know Travel correspondent. But this is not confirmed yet. The currency here is the Romanian leu. You must have cash with you, especially in rural areas. In large cities and tourist hotspots, you can often pay by card.
  10. Republic of Moldova: The national currency is the Moldovan leu. the Savings bank Recommends that money should be exchanged in the destination country.
See also  Sinn Fein leads in Northern Ireland elections

There are other countries in Europe that do not use the euro as their currency. Before you travel, find out what local currency you need and whether paying by card is an option.

Do you travel by plane? Unacceptable behaviors include jostling when entering and exiting.

Don’t want to miss more news and tips about vacation and travel?

Then sign up for the regular travel newsletter from our partner

Do you need a new passport? From now on the application is easier.

What countries use the euro currency?

The euro is the official currency of 20 of the 27 member states of the European Union. You can find out where you can pay in euros without hesitation Directorate General of Communications of the European Union.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Holland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain