June 21, 2024

World-class guys and DEC at the start

World-class guys and DEC at the start

The Invitational Race is for World Cup participants, national teams and professional teams. “We expect about 180 participants from 17 countries,” reports Heike Kogler, head of speed skating at DEC Inzell. Dutch stars such as long-distance runner Patrick Roest (also over 1,500 metres), three-time Olympic champion Kjeld Neuss (1,000 and 1,500 metres) and Olympic silver medalist (1,000 metres) Jota Leerdam have been recorded.

In addition, the best athletes are expected from Poland, Great Britain and Hungary, as well as Austrian Vanessa Herzog. Several young DEC athletes will compete, including Josephine Himmrl, Anna Ostlender, Myra Gach and Gabriel Gross.

“Of course it’s a daunting task for them, but it’s also an incentive to see such stars in competition,” Coogler emphasizes. Because even if the descendants of the DEC are not in head-to-head duels with the top stars on the ice: “You may see them heat up together or you can also see how they prepare in other ways.”

And on Saturday, men’s 500m, 1,000m and 5,000m are on the agenda. 3,000 men’s meters have been added. On Sunday, men and women compete in the 500 and 1,500 metres, and the women’s 3,000 metres.

Recently, the first races were already held in Inzel. It is clear that the Dutch dominated the event in terms of numbers and performance.

There was one exception for the women over 500 meters: in the first round, Japan’s Konami Suga (38.81) beat Isabel Grevelt and compatriot Saneki de Niling (38.98) a hundredth of a second. In the second round, the Japanese’s lead (38.86) over Esme Stollenga (Netherlands / 39.04) was more evident. Sankey de Niling finished the 1500m in her favor in 2:01.07. Over 100m Isabel Grevelt (1:16.98) was ahead of de Nieling (1:17.15), over 3000m Sanne int Hof dominated (4:10.28).

See also  This is how Grizzlys Wolfsburg wants to write ice hockey history

Lea Marie Bahlau (DEC Inzell) did well in the group start. In two of the three middle sprints, she collected 5 points, finishing second behind winner Laura Beveri (10:09.98 min / 63 pts) taking second place with a time of 10:12.49 min 45 pts. 60 points are awarded for winning the final race, 40 points for second place and 20 points for third place.

Except for the group start victory of Andrea Giovannini (Italy/8:08.38) – here Inzler Richard Hermann (8:33.31) finished eighth – there were only Dutch victories. Over 500 meters, Thijs Govers (36.29) was ahead of Elwin Jongman (36.32) and Tim Prins (36.33) in the first round, in the second round Joost van Dobbenburgh (36.39) was the fastest. Prince (1:11.22) won the 1000m, ahead of Jungmann (1:11.23).

Over 3000m It was clear for Matthew Hollar (3:55.08), who relegated Poland’s Maximilian Rzybka (4:09.62) to second. Stijn van de Bunt (6:37.87) was leading in the 5000m while Joep Kalverdijk (1:49.66) won the 1500m.

With the level of competition high, better times can be expected this weekend. So Heike Kogler also hopes that many more interested people will watch the competitions again this time.

World Health Organization