Foreign ministers condemn the ban on women from universities

The Foreign Ministers of twelve countries, including Germany, and the High Representative of the European Union, Josep Borrell, condemned in the strongest possible terms the recent Taliban decisions, which restrict the rights of women and girls in Afghanistan. The joint statement said:We call on the Taliban to immediately end the new oppressive measures regarding higher education for women and girls and to immediately reverse the current decision banning girls from attending secondary schools.”

The Taliban leadership decided to deny women access to universities, exclude girls from secondary education and impose other harsh restrictions on women and girls exercising their human rights and basic freedoms. The statement said:We stand with all Afghans in their demands to exercise their human rights in accordance with Afghanistan’s obligations under international law.”

The statement was issued by the governments of the USA, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the High Representative of the European Union.

The statement goes on to say: The Taliban’s repression of Afghan girls and women is rigorous and systematic. In the past 16 months, the Taliban has issued no fewer than 16 decrees and decrees that, among other things, limit women’s movement, keep women out of jobs, require women to cover their heads, and prevent women from using public spaces such as public parks and public spaces. Gymnasiums, banning widows, and placing families headed by women in a difficult situation by requiring male guardianship. These actions show that the Taliban is ignoring the basic human rights and freedoms of the people of Afghanistan. With these steps, the Taliban is isolating itself from the Afghan people and the international community.”

additional information:

The full statement

See also  eSIM: This is how the SIM receiver works

Press contact: Birgit Schmitzner, Tel: +49 (30) 2280-2300. More information on all press contacts here.

The EXPERIENCE EUROPE Visitor Center team will respond to citizens’ inquiries by e-mail or by phone at (030) 2280 2900.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.