Five Weston High School seniors are National Merit finalists

Five Weston High School seniors have been named as finalists in the National Merit Scholarship program. They are, from left, Elliot Eglash, Asra Ali, Grace Mattison, Emily Weyrauch, and Daniel Muller. Grace is also a finalist in the National Achievement Scholarship program.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. (NMSC) has named five Weston High School seniors, Elliot Eglash, Asra Ali, Emily Weyrauch, Daniel Muller, and Grace Mattison, as National Merit finalists.

“As soon as we heard, we notified the students by calling them down and taking a picture and sending a congratulatory letter home,” said Lisa Wolak, Weston High School principal, adding she is very proud.

Wolak said one of the finalists, Grace Mattison, is also a finalist in the National Achievement Scholarship program. It is connected to the NMSC and is designed to acknowledge the academic excellence of black American high school students.

The program is an academic competition for high school students to receive recognition and scholarships. They enter the program by completing the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship qualifying test (PSAT/NMSQT.)

Each year, approximately 1.5 million students compete in the National Merit Scholarship program. About 50,000 of those with the highest PSAT/NMSQT index scores in critical reading, mathematics, and writing qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship program.

Of those qualifying students, about 34,000 receive letters of commendation, acknowledging their high achievements. Commended students do not continue in the competition but some may receive special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

The remaining 16,000 students qualify as National Merit semifinalists. In order to advance to finalist standing, semifinalists must meet high academic standards and other requirements.

Winners of the National Merit Scholarship awards are chosen from the finalist group based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments.

The awards are sponsored by 450 independent sponsors and by the scholarship corporation’s own funds.

For more information, visit

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. The Weston Forum, 16 Bailey Avenue, Ridgefield, CT 06877

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress