Secretary of State certifies election results

FI-election-decision-2012Secretary of the State Denise Merrill on Nov. 28 officially certified the results of the 2012 general election on Nov. 6 for presidential electors and the offices of U.S. senator, representative in Congress, and Connecticut General Assembly.

According to Connecticut General Statute 9-315, the secretary of the state, together with the state treasurer and the state comptroller, must “declare what persons are elected” on the last Wednesday of the month of election.

Secretary Merrill is also reporting that the 2012 general election saw a turnout of nearly 74% of registered voters in Connecticut(73.77%). The figure is slightly lower than the 2008 presidential election turnout figure of 78.14% in the state, but places Connecticut at seventh highest state in the nation for voter turnout among registered voters in 2012.

“Despite the challenges we faced following Hurricane Sandy, Connecticut voters came to the polls with a very strong turnout on Election Day,” said Ms. Merrill. “By certifying these election results, we are officially putting into the record books the final word on one of the more exciting and historic elections in the history of our state. Overall, I commend the hard work done by local election administrators and poll workers to make sure the election ran as smoothly as it did.”

In Connecticut, more than 1,524,339 voters cast ballots on Election Day out of 2,066,260 registered voters. This statewide turnout figure does not include voter turnout results from the town of Prospect, which had not reported voter turnout figures to the secretary of the state’s office by the deadline required by law.

The top 10 municipalities for voter turnout in 2012 (as a percentage of registered voters) were:

Bridgewater – 94.75%

Middletown – 89.86%

Ridgefield – 89.42%

Washington – 88.35%

Woodbridge – 86.94%

Granby – 86.22%

Bolton – 86.20%

Roxbury – 85.92%

Wilton – 85.57%

Killingworth – 85.35%

Minnesota was the state with the highest percentage voter turnout, with 88.62% of registered voters casting ballots.

Official results

Overall, Democrats Barack Obama and Joe Biden won the presidential vote in Connecticut and Democrat Christopher Murphy was elected to represent Connecticut in the United States Senate.

Democrats John Larson (CT-1), Joe Courtney (CT-2), Rosa DeLauro (CT-3), Jim Himes (CT-4), and Elizabeth Esty (CT-5) were also elected to the 113th Congress of the United States.

In the Connecticut General Assembly, Democratic candidates were elected to 99 seats in the state House of Representatives and 22 seats in the state Senate. Republican candidates were elected to 52 seats in the House of Representatives and 14 seats in the state Senate.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. The Weston Forum, 16 Bailey Avenue, Ridgefield, CT 06877

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress